Thursday, March 29, 2007

Super car

100 V8 Super cars is the main motor racing series in Australia. A V8 Super car is a five-liter V8 powered sedan, and races are held in all state of Australia as well as New Zealand and China.

The Australian Touring Car Championship evolve into V8 Touring Cars in the near the beginning 1990s. The company AVESCO was chartered to take the business rights of the ATCC from 1997, and imaginary the moniker "V8 Super car". The series is known now by the name "V8 Super car Championship Series", and the victor is awarded the "Australian Touring Car Championship".

Development of the regulations

To the dissatisfaction of a majority of fans who had watched a long history of Ford-Holden battles in Australian touring car categories since the 1960s, international touring car regulations seemed intended to prevent the Australian-built Holden Commodore and Ford Falcon in the early 90s. However, this was avoided with V8 only regulations being drafted, in partnership Ford and Holden, to display case their large Australian made cars.

Nissan who had conquered in the early 90s had their Turbo AWD Skyline GT-R controversially barred from the series, whilst BMW were allowable to carry on. Nissan vowed never to return to touring car racing in Australia again, and a short time later ceased Australian manufacture.

Finally the BMW team of Paul Morris left to head a separate new Australian Super Touring Championship, and in the mid 90s this ST series ran in rivalry to the V8 group. Super Touring with its many makes had the backing of the Australian Racing Drivers Club and sensationally two Bathurst 1000s were held each year in 1997 and 1998, one for V8s and the other for ST. The bulk of sponsorship, driver talent, and fan notice remained with the more popular V-8 group during this era leaving the ASTC to later collapse as an part-time group.

No comments: